IA appoints Newton’s Munro and M&G’s Pinto to board of directors

Columbia Threadneedle CEO Nick Ring to leave board

Euan Munro
Euan Munro


The Investment Association (IA) has appointed four new directors, including CEOs at Newton and M&G.

They join the Board of Directors, made up of senior leaders from the IA’s membership, which oversees the organisation’s activity.

The new directors include AXA Investment Managers UK CEO Marcello Arona and UBS Asset Management global chief operating officer and UK country head Nasreen Kasenally.

They are joined by Newton IM CEO Euan Munro (pictured) and recently appointed M&G Investments chief executive Joseph Pinto.

Meanwhile, they replace outgoing members Nick Ring, CEO of Columbia Threadneedle, Marie Dzanis, head of Emea at Northern Trust Asset Management, Chris Hill, CEO of Hargreaves Lansdown, and Hassan Elmasry, managing partner at Independent Franchise Partners.

See also: Investment Association calls for improved rules for EU clients

Board appointees usually serve three-year terms.

Arona joined Axa IM in 2005 as CFO of its Italian branch. He also held senior roles in Axa’s US operation before being appointed CEO of the UK team in 2021.

Kasenally was appointed global chief operating officer for UBS Asset Management (AM) in May 2023.

Munro joined Newton IM in 2021 as the firm’s chief executive, having held the CEO role at Aviva Investors for seven years.

Meanwhile, Pinto joined M&G in March as asset management CEO from Natixis Investment Managers, where he held senior roles including global chief operating officer.

Patrick Thomson, chair of the IA Board, said: “On behalf of the Investment Association, I’m delighted to welcome Marcello, Nasreen, Euan and Joseph to the IA’s Board, each bringing the necessary expertise and perspectives required for these fast-changing times. I look forward to working with our new appointees and all Board members as our industry continues to help clients meet their financial goals. 

“I would also like to extend my sincere thanks to outgoing members, Marie, Hassan, Chris and Nick for their commitment and service to the IA Board.”  

Latest Stories