FE reveals new entrants to Alpha Manager Hall of Fame

Margaret Lawson joins fund managers from Columbia Threadneedle and Fidelity among others

SVM UK equity manager Margaret Lawson, Columbia Threadneedle’s Mark Heslop and Jeremy Podger from Fidelity are among the fund managers to land in the FE Alpha Manager Hall of Fame for the first time.

The Alpha Manager accolade is based on managers’ risk-adjusted alpha and consistency of outperformance versus their benchmark going back as far as 2000. Fund managers that land the honour over seven consecutive years form the Hall of Fame.

There are 18 new entrants in the 2019 rebalance taking the total number of Hall of Famers to 61.

New entrants to the FE Hall of Fame 2019

Alex SavvidesJO Hambro Capital Management
Andrew HeadleyVeritas Asset Management
Andrew HollimanPolar Capital
Bryan AgbabianAllianz Global Investors
Charles RichardsonVeritas Asset Management
Chris HutchinsonUnicorn Asset Management
Ezra SunVeritas Asset Management
Jeremy PodgerFidelity
Luke KerrMerian Global Investors
Margaret LawsonSVM Asset Management
Mark CostarJO Hambro Capital Management
Mark HeslopColumbia Threadneedle Investments
Robin ParbrookSchroders
Robrecht WoutersJO Hambro Capital Management
Roger MorleyMFS Meridian Funds
Sean AshfieldConsistent Unit Trust
Spencer AdairBaillie Gifford
Thorsten WinkelmannAllianz Global Investors

There are now more than 200 managers with the Alpha Manager rating, including 54 new entrants, 38 of which had never previously been awarded the accolade.

Charles Younes, research manager at FE, said it is a big ask for active managers to deliver seven years of risk-adjusted alpha and consistent outperformance “especially during prolonged periods of uncertainty and market volatility”.

“Investors can be confident that the performance of managers in the FE Hall of Fame is down to genuine skill and conviction, rather than luck,” Younes added.

Woodford remains in Hall of Fame

The Hall of Fame was launched in 2015 and there are now 17 fund managers who have landed the accolade for each of the five past years.

Despite recent underperformance, Neil Woodford was among the managers to achieve the honour, which focuses on a longer-term track record. This month, Woodford blasted “fake information and fake analysis” about his flagship UK Equity Income fund, which has been shedding investors since assets reached a peak of £10.72bn in May 2017.

Other fund managers that have also stayed five years in the Hall of Fame include Giles Hargreave, from Marlborough Fund Managers, John Chatfeild-Roberts, whose Jupiter range was recently downgraded by Morningstar due to its overreliance on active funds, and Jenny Jones, who is retiring from Schroders this month.

Managers with five consecutive years in FE Hall of Fame:

Andrew BroughSchroders
Andrew GreenGam
Barry NorrisArgonaut Capital Partners
Daniel NickolsMerian Global Investors
David DuddingColumbia Threadneedle Investments
Giles HargreaveMarlborough Fund Managers
Gordon GrenderGam
Harry NimmoAberdeen Standard Investments
Jenny JonesSchroders
John Chatfeild-RobertsJupiter
Leigh HimsworthFidelity
Mark SlaterSlater Investments
Martin LauFirst State Investments
Neil WoodfordWoodford Investment Management
Richard PeaseCrux Asset Management
Richard WoolnoughM&G
Robin HepworthEdentree Investment Management

Tags: | |

Recent News

Leave a Reply