morningstar obsr shortlist 2013 awards

Funds taking advantage of gradually improving UK and global finances dominate the shortlists for the sixth annual Morningstar OBSR awards for excellence in investment, 2013, the winners of which will be announced on 5 September.

morningstar obsr shortlist 2013 awards


The shortlist for the Outstanding fund manager award includes Tom Dobell (M&G Recovery), Alastair Mundy and Richard Plackett (Investec and BlackRock UK Special Situations respectively) alongside Nigel Thomas (Axa Framlington UK Select Opportunities).

The full list is:

•    Alexander Darwall – Jupiter (Jupiter European)
•    Tom Dobell – M&G (M&G Recovery)
•    Alastair Mundy – Investec (Investec UK Special Situations)
•    Richard Plackett – BlackRock (BlackRock UK Special Situations)
•    Andrew Rose – Schroders (Schroder Tokyo)
•    Nigel Thomas – AXA Framlington (AXA Framlington UK Select Opportunities)
•    Richard Woolnough – M&G (M&G Optimal Income, M&G Strategic Corporate Bond, M&G Corporate Bond)

The Outstanding rising talent shortlist follows a similar theme, and includes Nick Kirrage and Kevin Murphy (Schroder Recovery) and Henry Dixon (FP Matterley Undervalued Assets).

The full list is:

•    Henry Dixon – FP Matterley (FP Matterley Undervalued Assets)  
•    Nick Kirrage and Kevin Murphy – Schroders (Schroder Recovery)
•    Stuart Rhodes – M&G (M&G Global Dividend)
•    Matthew Vaight – M&G (M&G Global Emerging Markets)
•    Alex Wright – Fidelity (Fidelity UK Smaller Companies)

All the award winners will be decided by the Morningstar OBSR research team, using its in-depth qualitative research capabilities and considering what is important to investors: an outstanding return, an expected outcome, and loyalty from the fund manager (at least ten years’ service for the outstanding fund manager award) and the fund group.

A third award, for which there is no shortlist, will also be handed out for the Outstanding investment house, won jointly last year by First State Investments and M&G.

Last year’s winner of the Outstanding contributor to the industry, Richard Buxton, is this year’s industry keynote speaker, with Michael Portillo the after-dinner speaker.



Latest Stories